HomeNFLTrabzonspor fans attack Fenerbahce players after loss

Trabzonspor fans attack Fenerbahce players after loss


Related stories

ÖZET | Yukatel Merkezefendi Belediyesi Basket son periyotta kazandı

Yukatel Merkezefendi Belediyesi Basket: 83 - Darüşşafaka Lassa: 81 Salon:...

Fenerbahçeli yıldız futbolu bırakıyor

Fenerbahçe'nin İtalyan savunma oyuncusu Leonardo Bonucci, aktif futbolculuk kariyerini...

A Milli Takım da EURO 2024 hazırlıkları başladı

A Milli Futbol Takımı, 2024 Avrupa Şampiyonası (EURO 2024)...

Beşiktaş ta kupa coşkusu Lewandowski detayı

Siyah-beyazlı kulübün Beşiktaş İskele Meydanı'nda gerçekleştirdiği kupa şampiyonluğu kutlamasına...

Çorum, Türkiye’nin Gündeminde

Çorum Belediyesi hem sahipsiz sokak hayvanlarını koruyacak hem de...

Fans of Trabzonspor stormed the pitch after the full-time whistle

Trabzonspor fans ran on to the field and attacked Fenerbahce players after Sunday’s Super Lig match.

Fenerbahce players were met with violence as they celebrated their 3-2 victory at Papara Park in Trabzon.

Fenerbahce’s Bright Osayi-Samuel and Michy Batshuayi both tried to intervene as security services entered the field.

“It is never acceptable for violence to take place on football pitches – above all, sport is gentlemanship,” Turkey’s Interior Minister Ali Yerlikaya said.

“An investigation has been initiated immediately to identify the spectators who entered the pitch and to investigate the incidents that took place at the end of the match,” he wrote on X, formerly known as Twitter.

Yerlikaya said on Monday that 12 fans had been arrested.

Fifa president Gianni Infantino said the incidents were “absolutely unacceptable”.

“I have said it before, and I will say it again – without exception, in football, all players have to be safe and secure to play the game which brings such joy to so many people all over the world,” he said.

“I call on the relevant authorities to ensure that this is respected at all levels and for the perpetrators of the shocking events in Trabzon to be held accountable for their actions.”

Tensions started to rise in the 87th minute when objects were thrown on to the field after Batshuayi scored what proved to be the winner for the visitors.

Nigeria winger Osayi-Samuel, who used to play for Blackpool and Queens Park Rangers, knocked one pitch invader to the ground while former Chelsea forward Batshuayi aimed a kick at another as the players were swarmed by opposition fans.

The Turkish Football Federation called the events “unacceptable” and said in a statement that “the necessary criminal sanctions will be imposed on those responsible for these incidents”.

Trabzonspor coach Abdullah Avci said: “We are going through a period that Turkish football is now completely fed by chaos, where tensions are constantly high, and where we cannot use the healing power of football.”

Fenerbahce manager Ismail Kartal added: “I don’t understand why this place is so tense. Don’t we have the right to celebrate? We need to overcome these things. We need to be tolerant towards each other and have common sense.”

It is the latest in a series of controversial incidents in the Turkish league during the 2023-24 season.

In December, referee Halil Umut Meler was struck by MKE Ankaragucu president Faruk Koca, leading to a suspension in Super Lig fixtures.

Fenerbahce sit second in the Super Lig, two points behind leaders Galatasaray and 30 clear of Trabzonspor in third.



Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 1Çakir
  • 12Meunier
  • 3FernándezSubstituted forBardhiat 45′minutes
  • 24DenswilBooked at 70mins
  • 18ElmaliBooked at 76mins
  • 5Özdemir
  • 6Mendy
  • 7Visca
  • 19Pépé
  • 10TrézéguetBooked at 78minsSubstituted forFountasat 90+6′minutes
  • 94DestanBooked at 52minsSubstituted forBozokat 64′minutesBooked at 90mins


  • 2Baniya
  • 8Bardhi
  • 9Bozok
  • 14Fountas
  • 16Sen
  • 23Günes
  • 33Gürpüz
  • 54Tepe
  • 73Bosluk
  • 99Orsic


Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 40Livakovic
  • 21Osayi-SamuelBooked at 82mins
  • 4AzizSubstituted forOosterwoldeat 45′minutesBooked at 90mins
  • 6DjikuBooked at 75mins
  • 7Kadioglu
  • 5Yüksek
  • 35Fred
  • 17KahveciSubstituted forMüldürat 90+6′minutes
  • 53SzymanskiSubstituted forBatshuayiat 83′minutes
  • 10Tadic
  • 9DzekoSubstituted forDursunat 83′minutes


  • 8Yandas
  • 16Müldür
  • 20Ünder
  • 23Batshuayi
  • 24Oosterwolde
  • 26Zajc
  • 33Krunic
  • 70Egribayat
  • 88Dursun
  • 91Dursun

Halil Umut Meler


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories