HomeFootballFootball Elects McLaughlin as 150th Captain, Hudson Named MVP - Harvard University

Football Elects McLaughlin as 150th Captain, Hudson Named MVP – Harvard University


Related stories



BOSTON – Harvard Football running back Shane McLaughlin has been elected the program’s 150th team captain, it was announced at the team’s annual banquet Monday night at the Harvard Club of Boston. Linebacker Matt Hudson, meanwhile, was the recipient of The Frederick Greeley Crocker Award, which is presented to the Crimson’s MVP.
McLaughlin will serve as team captain for the 2024 campaign and follows in the footsteps of outgoing senior defensive lineman Nate Leskovec, who was the co-winner of The Coach Joseph Restic Award (leadership, scholarship, integrity). Leskovec shared the honor with tight end Tyler Neville.
Senior offensive lineman Jacob Rizy was the winner of The Robert F. Kennedy Award, which is awarded to the player who exemplifies desire and determination. Fellow offensive lineman Spencer Cassell, meanwhile, was the co-recipient of The William Paine LaCroix Award (enthusiasm, sportsmanship, loyalty). The senior shared the honor with classmate and safety Kaleb Moody.
Two defensive linemen took home The Joseph E. Wolf Award and The Henry H. Lamar Award, respectively. Thor Griffith was the winner of the Wolf Award, given to the team’s top interior lineman, with Kwaku Adubofour earning the Lamar Award for his dedication to the program.
Lastly, the aforementioned Hudson collected the Crocker Award after a season in which he tallied 66 tackles, including 4.0 for a loss, one interception and one fumble recovery. The Eagle, Idaho, native helped a Crimson defense rank 21st in the nation in both rushing defense and scoring defense.

2023 Harvard Football Award Winners 

The Coach Joseph Restic Award (Leadership, Scholarship, Integrity)

Tyler Neville and Nate Leskovec

The Robert F. Kennedy Award (Desire and Determination)

Jacob Rizy

The Joseph E. Wolf Award (Top Interior Lineman)

Thor Griffith

The Henry H. Lamar Award (Dedication to Program)

Kwaku Adubofour

The William Paine LaCroix Award (Enthusiasm, Sportsmanship, Loyalty)

Kaleb Moody and Spencer Cassell

The Frederick Greeley Crocker Award (MVP)

Matt Hudson

The 150th Harvard Football Captain

Shane McLaughlin 

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here